A day with...GRADE

A day with... GRADEing Methods Group
A day with... GRADEing Methods Group

We are delighted to announce 'A day with...', a new series of virtual events for anyone interested in systematic review methodology and the work of Cochrane Methods Groups. Whether you are new to systematic review methodology or an advanced-level learner, these virtual events will be an opportunity for you to meet and learn from colleagues from different Methods Groups, with a variety of online events happening throughout the day.

On this page, you can find out all about the second in the series of events: A day with… GRADEing Methods Group which is taking place on Wednesday 18 November 2020.  You can sign up to join us for a session on latest methodological developments, pose a challenging methods question for one of our experts, explore some of the free learning that is available, or take part in Twitter chats on the day.


PROGRAMME (18 November 2020)

MEET THE GROUP... [To be launched on the day]

Watch a brief video introducing the GRADEing Methods Group, its people, its work and find out ways to get involved.


SPOTLIGHT ON... [Coming soon]

A collection of online resources compiled for the day. In addition we are offering special free access to the Cochrane Interactive Learning module 7: Interpreting the findings and module 8: Reporting the review, from November 4th until December 2nd 2020.


WHAT'S NEW... [Live]

15:00 UTC (FYI: 10am Toronto, 3pm London, 7am Vancouver, 2am Melborune), [check the time in your time zoneSign up here

A 90-min live session with a series of brief presentations and Q&A, focusing on guidance on assessing the certainty of evidence and interpreting the results, drawn from various sections of the newly revised Cochrane Handbook.

Presentation 1:
Latest in non-randomized study GRADE guidance
Presentation 2:
Latest in GRADE guidance on deciding on the target of certainty/quality ratings
Presentation 3:
Latest GRADE guidance regarding network meta-analyis
Presentation 4:
GRADE guidance regarding plain language wording associated with certainty/quality of evidence and magnitude of effect
Dr. Holger J. Schünemann
Professor of Clinical Epidemiology and of Medicine
Director, Cochrane Canada and McMaster GRADE Centre
Department of Health Research Methods, Evidence, and Impact; McMaster University, Canada 
Dr. Gordon Guyatt
Distinguished Professor, Department of Health Research Methods, Evidence, and Impact; McMaster University, Canada

 

Dr. Romina Brignardello-Petersen
Assistant Professor, Department of Health Research Methods, Evidence, and Impact; McMaster University, Canada
Dr. Nancy Santesso
Assistant Professor, Department of Health Research Methods, Evidence & Impact, McMaster University, Canada

AN HOUR WITH... [Live]

Session 1: 13:00 UTC (FYI: 8am Toronto, 1pm London, 5am Vancover, 00:00/Midnight Melborune), [check the time in your time zoneSign up here
Session 2: 21:00 UTC (FYI: 4pm Toronto, 9pm London, 1pm Vancouver, 8am/Nov 19 Melbourne), [check the time in your time zoneSign up here

Two 60-minute online sessions, focusing less on presentations and more on Methods Group experts directly answering and discussing questions submitted by the community.

Find out more and submit a question

Panel of experts:

  • TBC

THE FLOOR IS OPEN... [Live on the day]

We'll be running a Twitter chat during the event, providing opportunities for the community to interact with the Methods Group, raise and discuss methodological and other relevant issues and questions: #adaywithGRADE


If you have any questions about participating in 'A day with... GRADEing Methods Group' contact us at support@cochrane.org